Lauren Raine Speaks in Sacred Circle.

Photo of Lauren Raine by Fahrusha

From April 13 thru April 16th, I was privileged to assist at Lauren Raine’s Masks of the Goddess seminar on the beautiful campus of the Kirpalu. I roomed in a nice facility called Hill House which was about a quarter mile away from the main building. Spring had just barely begun to bloom with the first tender blossoms and here and there, there were tiny patches of snow. The weather was crisp and splendid; the first scents of the awakening Gaia could be detected.

I was frankly very tentative about the idea of a roommate. I was glad to have company but as a light sleeper, I was afraid I’d be disturbed. To my surprise my roommate turned out to be a truly amazing woman named Martha (last name withheld to protect the innocent). She was a tough, strong, yet tender older lady who impressed me more than anyone I’ve met in a long time. Her honesty and wisdom were beyond that of many self-styled spiritual leaders, and here knowledge of nature and survival skills was formidable. We had some very valuable conversations.

The plaster casts that formed the masks

Lauren’s class had seven participants, all female. I guess guys mostly don’t want to make a Goddess mask, go figure. It is their loss. 🙂 The participants had come from New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New Hampshire and Ontario and included several dedicated craftswomen, a yoga teacher/actress, a midwife, a retired ballerina current yogini, a business woman philanthropist and a housewife.

One participant even wrote me a poem:

Often quiet, often silent
Often wanting to be free
Flying high above the trees
Telling what there is to see…
Bringing visions of the goddess
To the circle at our feet
With her face in white of plaster
She was also filled with laughter..
Sometimes rosey, sometimes pink
Sometimes she would stop and think
Shall I paint this mask of mine?
No, not now, another time…
So we all have since then parted
Going this and that way farther
Towards the goddess of our dreams
and moisturize our mask with cream…
Beatriz Rodriguez
Wow! What an honor. Thanks so much. Thanks to Lauren and Kirpalu and all participants that I could be part of this sacred and cultural event.
